How to Fail as a Writer: Stop Writing

To my dearly beloved readers, some words of wisdom.

What defines success for a writer?

Often writers feel like they’ve failed.

2016-04-17 19.15.04

The Dog Writes

They say:

If I’m not on the Bestseller list of some major Newspaper (Website), I’ve failed as a writer.

If I can’t support myself through my writing, I’ve failed as a writer.

If I’ve never had a story sold to Hollywood or Broadway, I’ve failed as a writer.

If I haven’t had a novel published, I’ve failed as a writer.

If I haven’t had a story published, I’ve failed as a writer.

If I’d had a ton of rejections, I’ve failed as a writer.

If I haven’t had a poem published, I’ve failed as a writer.

If I have years of writer’s block, I’ve failed as a writer.

If I’ve been published, but no-one buys my work, I’ve failed as a writer.

If I’ve gotten terrible reviews of my writing, I’ve failed as a writer.

No, only when you stop writing, have you truly failed as writer. Writers write.

Peace be the Botendaddy

About Botendaddy

Three times voted extreme sexiest man alive...by acclamation. I run because I must...I must!
This entry was posted in Critic's Corner, People and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

