The Last Free Run of the Year: 4.11 Miles

“You offended a lot of people with your last post Botendaddy. This whole blog thing, it’s over!” Said the Librarian as we ran along the trail in the cool dry air.

“Nothing is over! Who are they to protest me and call me baby-killer and all kinds of vile crap! Unless they been me! And done what I’ve done! ”

img_6294

The bridge of doom

“Botendaddy, that’s a line from the movie ‘Rambo’ you f&$king idiot.”

“It’s the end of running season. I’m going to achieve my goal. The second most miles I’ve ever run in a year. 30 distance races. A few miles under 8:00 minutes, a 5k under 28:00. A few second and third place finishes in age group. I am running one final race this year, the Harmony Silvester 5k.”

img_6295

The river of evil

“We barely broke a nine minute mile. But usually you do worse.”

“I have a good shot at APFT time for the two mile today. My first mile is getting weaker but I’m able to sustain a good pace for four or five miles. Maybe this is how you build up to a 10k?”

img_6291

The road to perdition

“Yes we broke 20 minutes easily? Try for 30 minutes for three miles? I worry you don’t have the juice for a sub 30 minute 5k, you are going to need to run a much faster one and two mile pace probably 8:30 and 17:30-18:00 for the two-mile to have a prayer at breaking the 30 minute 5k.” She said. She was right we were going to break a 30 minute 3 miler but not the 5k. We had a good shot at a 40 minute four miler so we went for it.

“So Librarian, we made it. It’s all in the first mile though. I’ve got to hit under 8:30 for the first mile. There’s no other way. But I feel like I’m running as hard as I can. What more can I do?”

“Look, Botendaddy, when the No-one Cares Lady died, it was like part of me died too. But now you’re the one, you’re the one who can beat Adonis steroid muscle God: Ivan Drago! You’ve got to get the eye… of the tiger.”

The librarian was right. I had to go to Philadelphia.

“Latte?”

To be continued,

Peace be the Botendaddy

About Botendaddy

Three times voted extreme sexiest man alive...by acclamation. I run because I must...I must!
This entry was posted in Critic's Corner, Exercise, People, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

