Fineview Step Challenge – 5 Miler

This was truly horrible at best.

img_5124

The Registration

The location was pretty cool: the urban mind-scape.

img_5122

Friendly elf-runes

There was a steady downpour at the start. It was around 61 degrees.

img_5130

Die Alte Kirche

I didn’t know what to expect. yeah, I can do this…yeah, sure I can.

IMG_5125.JPG

The neighborhood

It started off easy. I was running the slight uphill grade, thenb it turned towards the city steps.

img_5152

The first set of steps

The hills were as bad as the steps. We climbed from almost sea level to one of the highest points in the region.

img_5164

A murderous hill

It just kept getting worse. There was even a few mud trails in the woods where you needed a rope to climb the muddy hill. The residents were all encouraging.

img_5167

Oh yeah, it’s bad…

This final set of steps. It was godawful. 337 steps on Rising Run Street. Not too well maintained either.

img_5172

Fun, eh?

I was desperately trying to stay in front of this girl. She was very strong. The women in the race were incredible. One of them kept me from going the wrong way. By the by, I outweighed the nearest competitor by 25 pounds. These were tiny, small, slender, slight, athletic people.

img_5178

Almost at the finish line.

They timed us somehow. I’m not sure how.

I’m also not sure if I’m ready for the ‘Hells on Hills’ Next week on. Canton Avenue

I know not to underestimate it this time.

Stats:

  • Height: 6’3.5″
  • Weight: 194
  • BMI: 23.9
  • Waist: 33.5
  • Body-fat: 14.8%
  • Tan: Fading, but visible
  • Hair: Still all there

I thought I was alone, but around the 3 mile mark I was joined by the Librarian.

“Botendaddy? I’ve missed you… a lot. I mean, you are way beneath me. Out of my league. A shit-bird, not a shitlord. Lowlife, scum from a bad family.”

I had about enough this time.

“Out of your league? Who the f&%k are you? My mom’s family were Darwin’s from Manchester. My father was an Archaeologist and Paleontologist with a PhD. A chairman of his department. A WWII vet, Korea Vet. My dad taught at an Ivy League School. My mom had an Ivy League degree. She was an anthropologist who did research in Africa. My family had soldiers in every U.S. war since the Spanish-American War. My brother is a scientist. I have several advanced degrees and I served thirty years in the Army. So f*&k my family? F&%k yours! You stupid tw@t!”

img_5145

The runners

“Oh… so that’s how you feel about me..”

We chugged up another hill.

“You just roundly insulted my dead parents for the 33rd time. What reaction do you expect? I love you?”

“I knew you loved me. Now do something about it fatty.”

“Chili Mocha?”

Peace be the Botendaddy.

About Botendaddy

Three times voted extreme sexiest man alive...by acclamation. I run because I must...I must!
This entry was posted in Critic's Corner, Dining, Exercise, Food, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

