You can’t beat a plateau with exercise, you just have to ride it out

105,000 steps in six days on my running road trip.

9,300 calorie undercount based on a 1,500 calorie a day diet over the same six days.

Two 5k runs.

Starting weight 231.8, ending weight 229.

image

Across 110th Street

I was stunned. I thought I would weigh about 225. Then I realized, a plateau is a plateau. It is a normal physiological response to weight loss. You can’t force it. Just be consistent.

So suppose I hadn’t walked and done the two runs along with Maintaining the diet, which I did, I’d probably still be 231.8. So it helped, but it’s not a miracle cure to beat a plateau.

By the way, I got my first race medal in eight years in the mail today.

image

The Medal

“Botendaddy. I have always been tall, thin and blonde. I am beautiful, successful and rich. You are some kind of three-time loser, third rate scientist, third rate soldier in the twilight of a mediocre career, a bum, a palooka.” Said the CEO, smugly as we rode together on the bus.

“Thank you for your kind words. But you are right, consistency in diet and exercise are the only way to win the day.” I told her majestically.

image

The road

“You are inferior goods, a nothing, a nobody. Yet I groveled before you like a pathetic puppy so that you would make love to me, sully me with your vile fluids, utterly defile me, yet you still carry this air of superiority, like I’m your subservient, slave-b1tch-f&$k-woman. I want you to march me naked, except for a tattoo that says ‘property of the Botendaddy’, a dog collar and heels through the streets of Olde Wheeling in front of jeering crowds. Since you made love to me (several times) you now own me completely. I am hopelessly in love with you, despite whatever transpired among you, Ramone and The Park Ranger.”

image

The bus people

The reserved seats on the bus were incredibly small and the front seat was hot.

“You need to change your massive adult diaper Botendaddy, either that or something died under your seat. You do have to change them occasionally.”

“So you’re right CEO. I will stay the course and work my way down to 199 and achieve BMI ‘good’ and I will achieve the sub 30 minute 5k and better.”

Peace be the Botendaddy

 

 

About Botendaddy

Three times voted extreme sexiest man alive...by acclamation. I run because I must...I must!
This entry was posted in Dining, Exercise, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

