Trail Run on Melting Ice and Snow

Run Number 497

Extreme Winter

Extreme Winter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CONDITIONS

It wasn’t as bad as the photo.

Rather it was in the 30s and rising.

Virtually no part of the trail was ice-free, well some parts were soggy and vile.

I ran up on the grassy, rocky, shitty berm where the old railroad tracks used to be.

I tried to follow the windy tracks that some utility vehicle had made in the melting snow, revealing soggy, rocky, shitty grass.

GROUND TRUTH

I noticed that the GPS short-changed me badly on the first half-mile.

It was accurate vs the ground markers afterwards, but it seems that sometimes the GPS takes a while to catch up.

It’s not a perfect science, especially when you are at one-bar signal strength.

THE TRAIL

I ran hard, but speed was impossible. The trail was covered with little hemispheres of melting ice, there was no good footing.

Once again there were no other runners on the trail.

A couple of dog walkers, one walker, all were polite this time.

The key is have shoes with a good grip and run slow, try to avoid the ice if at all possible.

At any rate I’ve already run 4 times as far as I did last January, so maybe I’ll meet my annual goals.

I’m supposed to start dieting with my niece, we’ll see how we both do.

 

Peace Be the Botendaddy

 

About Botendaddy

Three times voted extreme sexiest man alive...by acclamation. I run because I must...I must!
This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

