The Hug Lady – Elizabeth Laird – RIP

I got ready to go on the big old jet airliner ©™®.

We were going to Iraq in the Spring of 2008.

We were in a large gym of some sort or hangar at the air field.

I was jaded, been in the service a long time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dust-off near Al Numiniyyah, Iraq

I did one-off stuff so I kept to myself and my small eclectic team of air-ground people.

I was seated way up in back with my equipment when I saw the hug lady.

I thought it was some ancient 1st Cavalry tradition going back to Vietnam.

As you got ready to go on the plane she would give you a big hug.

She looked like a sweet old grandma.

It was nice, very American, very old school.

She died yesterday.

May I just say: ‘Thank you Elizabeth, may you rest in peace.’

Peace be the Botendaddy

About Botendaddy

Three times voted extreme sexiest man alive...by acclamation. I run because I must...I must!
This entry was posted in People and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

