Run Number 58: A desolate rail trail run

I picked this trailhead because it was remote. I could run in peace, away from my crazed fans and groupies. Feared literary critics have more fans than surgeons, astronauts, singers, movie stars and professional athletes.

Distracting transition sentence: ‘Look! a puppy!’

image.jpeg

I wanted to run four miles, two out two back. Now, the first two miles is all uphill, a steady 270-foot climb.

My knee pain came back but it was slight. My times weren’t good. I started slower than I had thought. The GPS had trouble finding me out here.

I overshot the two-mile marker by about 30 yards as I was looking at the wrong marker.

I kept up a steady pace, but the knee pain steadily increased in intensity.

It was supposed to be warm, but the trail was cooler than expected.

Usually, the trail is almost empty but there were a lot of folks out today.

I ended up running 4.2 miles. I only need 2.73 to break last years’ total.

Will I make it? I’m going to run a 5k this Saturday. We will see.

image

Peace be the Botendaddy

About Botendaddy

Three times voted extreme sexiest man alive...by acclamation. I run because I must...I must!
This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

