Buffalo Creek 5k

Located in the highlands of Armstrong County, it was the beginning of the change in autumn foliage in scenic Worthington, PA.

IMG_0306

The race course was along Buffalo creek which meandered lazily past a series of dairy farms.

The cows even mooed loudly as we ran by. Someone had a dog names Sadie and I think the dog got them going, you could see the entire herd backpedal from the wooly canine.

It was very warm, as it was an afternoon race, about 70 degrees or more, not conducive to fast times, but better on the knees.

The parking lot was at the top of a very steep winding rural road, so it was a long. steep walk down and a merciless walk back up the hill after the race was over.

At the bottom of the hill, the road was lined with ambulances, police, country folk.

IMG_0311

Everyone was friendly. I couldn’t get a head count maybe 75-100. I did check the results and there were 61 participants.

Once again, I picked out a few people to run against. Always the run-walk-run folks, there the only ones I can catch.

I actually passed most of the run-walk-run people, but one pretty young girl, I jockeyed with back and forth until well past the 2.5 mile mark.

We were complaining to each other about the hills. She was actually a sweet young lady. Could have been 20 could have been 35 I can’t tell anymore.

I put on a kick at the end, but I couldn’t hold it. I got passed by a ten-year old.

IMG_0314

I did eclipse last year’s mileage mark and it’s only early October.

About Botendaddy

Three times voted extreme sexiest man alive...by acclamation. I run because I must...I must!
This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

