Ohio Township 5k

I had several choices of where to run, but I picked Sewickley, Ohio Township.

It was high elevation as evidence by a sophisticated enormous multi-use red and white radio tower, that loomed over the start line.

The course was very hilly, started and ended in a park.

FullSizeRender

There were lots of good downhill stretches interspersed with grueling uphills.

The weather was misty, about 60 degrees.

The race shirt was an awesome Maple Leaf.

The crowd included an Eighth Grade track team that organized the event.

FullSizeRender2

As usual, I lost most of the runners by the quarter-mile mark, leaving approximately six of us and then later four in a duel.

It was almost an Indian run duel with the runner-walkers. All females of course and me, the old dude.

This time I was ready.

When they would walk on the uphill I would make sure to actually pass them to give them a sense of urgency so they would run too hard.

We eventually lost the younger pair on one of the uphills after the halfway point.

Then it was just the four other runners. We Indian ran the entire way.

Or I ran, they walked-ran-walked-ran.

On the steep downhill back into the park, I ran as hard as I could. There were two runners just in front of me that I lost and then caught again on the final half-mile lap.

I just started digging as hard as I could. This left only two runners ahead of me from our pack. I caught the one, but I didn’t have enough just to catch the other.

Not a great time, but better than usual on a hilly course.

About Botendaddy

Three times voted extreme sexiest man alive...by acclamation. I run because I must...I must!
This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

