Make a Wish Five Miler

I don’t know what I was thinking. I hadn’t run five miles since early 2009, since around the time of the surgery to fix the tibia I split in Iraq. Yeah there was some war back there. I don’t really remember it because I have become unstuck in time.

BOTENDADDY HAS BECOME UNSTUCK IN TIME!

Anyway earlier this year I ran about a 4.17, so I figured 5 miles, no problem.

I got there early. It was a festive event. Nice setup, water, drinks, donuts etc. I sat at a wooden table and I chatted with a nice lady, a retired nurse, young for retired though. I stretched a bit, a new habit I’ve gotten into.

It was hot at start time. There was an ever-present overbearing sun. I started quickly, but I always fade after about 200 yards. The route was relatively flat, it went around a lake. I was with most of the crowd for about a half mile. I was doing OK. I was king of in the thick of the rear of the pack up until about mile two, then it spread out dramatically. I was pacing with a rather ample young lady up until about the halfway point, then I couldn’t keep up with her. I was even OK at mile three. My three mile split was good but my mile four time was atrocious for obvious reasons, but I faded very badly after about the 3.5 mile mark. I had to stop at the hideous, bacteria-stoked savage outhouse which cost me about three minutes on mile four. After mile four, I could barely catch some of the people who stopped and walked. Mile five was horrible I was barely making a running motion.

I ended up at the tail end of the middle third, but I don’t know if the people after me were walkers or runners.

Only a few minor complaints: The run started at 9 instead of 8 meaning that it got real hot real fast with crushing humidity. There was no water station after two miles and there was almost no shade the entire route.

But at any rate it was the longest distance I ran since 2009.

And I finished.

About Botendaddy

Three times voted extreme sexiest man alive...by acclamation. I run because I must...I must!
This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

