Review: Dr. Robert and Good Morning, Good Morning – The Beatles

I have to admit that I’ve always liked the Beatles. I knew they were around, but I didn’t really listen. Not until I read Vince Bugliosi’s ‘Helter Skelter’. Possibly the most terrifying read for a pre-teen of all time, of course, next to Piers Paul Ried’s brilliant ‘Alive’ that literally put the reader on the mountain. At any rate, yeah I started buying the LPs, playing them backwards etc. I ended up with a near ‘compleat’ collection including original Parlophones and Capitol Records.

At any rate, two particularly high-energy tunes are Dr. Robert from ‘Revolver’ (the break from boy-band album) and Good Morning, Good Morning (from Sgt. Pepper). The first is a cynical dissertation on some pill-pushing Doctor, but still a pounding rhythm with great bass tracks. Listen to the bass and vocals isolation on Youtube or wherever. The next is Good Morning, an upbeat classically English tune. Find the Ringo Starr drum isolation and listen to it along with the original.

You can really hear Ringo’s machine-like pounding metronome, reminiscent of drumming from an English Military band. My favorite drummer? Yes. Too bad for you. Neil Peart? Sorry I never paid attention. Bonham? sure I love ‘Moby Dick’. Krupa with ‘Big Noise’? definitely. Buddy Rich? OK I’ll claim to like everyone you say I should like. But no, I’ll like what I like and if you don’t like it, I could care less, take your opinion, and that’s all it is, and go rot, I’ll go with Ringo.

BD

Honorable mentions: ‘Everybody’s Got Something to Hide…’ from the White Album, what a massive metal opening. Between this and ‘Helter Skelter’ it’s obvious the Beatles could play metal. And, of course, ‘I’m Down’ is one of the greatest Brit-rock songs of all time, with a hint of Kansas City blues. ‘Smile Away’, another hard-charging McCartney tune.

Oh, all the great new Rock music? Where is it? Yeah I know the industry only wants pure money-making pop. But since Cobain, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Lenny Kravitz, no-one has really laid it out there, although Fallout Boy is not too shabby. So kids, here’s my advice: go into your garage, write your own music, don’t try to please anybody and start playing some real rock and roll.

Peace be the Botendaddy

About Botendaddy

Three times voted extreme sexiest man alive...by acclamation. I run because I must...I must!
This entry was posted in Critic's Corner, People and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

