Ode to Warren Oates

I am known as the Botendaddy.

I just happened to be looking up Warren Oates.

Warren Oates was among the most underrated actors of his era.

Imagining the films he was in without him… is impossible. They would just be different films. ‘Stripes’, for example.

‘Alfredo Garcia’ was a deliberate attempt to make a film in precise Mexican B-Movie style. It is unarguably best of genre and is mercilessly copied in style. Without Warren Oates, there is no film.

Current filmmakers are just starting to understand his craft, the common man who just was what he was.

I don’t know what he was like outside of the big screen.

But, in every film, I always saw the character and never him, which is my highest praise.

I apologize for the intrusion but I wanted you to know that Warren Oates is held in very high regard by true students of film.

‘Bring me the Head of Alfredo Garcia’

Directed by Sam Peckinpah
Produced by Martin Baum
Screenplay by Sam Peckinpah Gordon Dawson
Story by Frank Kowalski and Sam Peckinpah
Starring Warren Oates, Isela Vega, Robert Webber, Gig Young and Helmut Dantine
Music by Jerry Fielding
Cinematography Alex Phillips, Jr.
Distributed by United Artists
Release date August 14, 1974

Highly Recommended

‘Stripes’

Directed by Ivan Reitman
Produced by Daniel Goldberg and Ivan Reitman
Written by Len Blum, Harold Ramis and Daniel Goldberg
Starring Bill Murray, Harold Ramis, Warren Oates, P. J. Soles and John Candy
Music by Elmer Bernstein
Cinematography Bill Butler
Edited by Harry Keller, Michael Luciano and Eva Ruggiero
Distributed by Columbia Pictures
Release date(s) June 26, 1981

Highly Recommended

And yes, I cite Wikipedia unless you can prove to me that there is objective truth.

About Botendaddy

Three times voted extreme sexiest man alive...by acclamation. I run because I must...I must!
This entry was posted in Critic's Corner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

