Half-Marathon in Baghdad

Today’s half-marathon, I came in at 2 hours 40 minutes 8 seconds.

The previous half-marathon was a disaster, I’m not sure if I came in dead last, but I didn’t see anyone behind me. My time then was 3 hours 5 minutes 28 seconds.

It was cool again, 71 degrees steady despite the reeking humidity from the many decorative ponds.

I am following a new strategery of starting quicker and staying to as fast a pace I can manage as long as I can manage. I am tired of getting beat by people who walk 400 yards out of every mile.

I began to pick these people off one by one. The first one was stocky and strong but not a runner. I caught him walking a couple of times and ran past him eventually he fell by the wayside around the 3 mile mark. I caught another one at the 4 mile mark who was a lot faster, but was still dogging it by walking. We ran alongside each other neck and neck until the seven mile mark when I caught her walking and I ran past her.

The next was a group of four that would stop and walk, then run fast, then walk. They gave me that contemptuous young-soldier sneer each time I caught up, sometimes arrogantly spitting almost in my direction. This only made me angrier and more determined to crush them like ants. At the 8 mile mark I bolted past them and one other tired miscreant. Now there was no-one ahead of me in the slow group. This time I was way ahead of the super-slow group.

One by one I caught more and more runners who had tired to walking, they would sprint past me once or twice only to be savagely defeated. At the twelve mile mark I passed several more, then it was a matter of hanging on for a decent run time. I was completely burned out hanging my head, forcing myself to run. By the time I hit the finish line I could hear the wrap-up of the awards ceremony, but I was 25 minutes ahead of my last half-marathon and I had crushed the walker-runners who previously had mystified me.

By the way running still sucks.

About Botendaddy

Three times voted extreme sexiest man alive...by acclamation. I run because I must...I must!
This entry was posted in Exercise and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

